COMING TO GHANA: DAY 4

ARE YOU PACKED? YOU TOOK YOUR SHOTS? LET’S GO GHANA! AND THE BEST PART IS… YOU DO NOT NEED TO GET A PASSPORT!

Coming to Ghana Day 4 – The revenge of the mosquitoes

After a not so great sleep because of strong winds and nightmares, I woke up at 3:30 am and did not leave my bed until 6am when it was bright out to run to the outhouse to pee. I took those few hours I was up to reflect on my life in London and what my mother must be thinking about me being here. I pictured her saying she was proud of me and that brought tears to my eyes. I was starting to miss her smile and morning ritual of shouting my name to wake me up. I just enjoyed the peace of the still morning until my bladder demanded to be relieved.

At breakfast, for once there were no children hanging around us. We all got ready later than normal and started to walk to the school, The sun was bright and it was hot but we had the glorious breeze to ease the long walk. Every time children saw Marie they would stare, go near her and erupt amidst laughter shouting “yavvo” meaning white. With only one or two quick stops under a shaded spot in town, we walked for over 45 mins to get to the school. Dorkus was not well so Shalom told me that I was teaching her class.

As we arrived, the children were cooling off in the classrooms. I collapsed into a chair which I dragged from the office. Shalom said that I was going to teach English with he 5 to 8 year olds. She bought out the English text book and showed me where they were up to from yesterday. I greeted the class and they sat down. I could see they had eagerness to impress their English teach with their language skills.

The children showed that the could read, they knew their alphabet and had some comprehension of my instructions. We went through description of their body parts in English before marching them outside to sing ‘Head, shoulders, knees and toes’ which they loved and broke up the formal teaching style.

After lunch, we had the rest of the period free for the children to play. All of the teachers sat outside in the shade. One by one, they came and played with our hair, climbed us and brought their books to read for us. It really touched my heart as I felt like I was the block mama for so many children. I was proud that they choose to come to school and wanted to learn. I felt warm inside as I cradled a two year old girl and longed for children of my own.

When school was over, we walked to the market as Thursdays holds the biggest markets in town. We ended our tour to the fish market by the river.

I was so sick with the heat and the long walk that I started to feel faint. I asked Shalom to call me a motorbike taxi to go home. Within 5 minutes, I was whisked off to my front door. I had the sudden urge to pee and poo (which was my first one since I landed). As I was stooping down over the hole of the outhouse and straining with all of my might, I felt light headed. I finished the best I could and took my time heading back to the room. I stripped and collapsed unto the bed where Shalom and Marie found me. I decided that I will take the rest of the day easy and rest.

We had a bun for dinner and went straight to bed. We decided that tonight we will not turn on the light and instead use light from our laptops to decrease the chances f attracting flying insects. The method was successful as there were no mosquitoes return to finish me off.

For the first time in a few days, I finally had a good night sleep. I could not wait for Friday to come to see the children again.

Stay tuned for day 5 to find out if I get better and learn more about the children.

IF YOU LIKE THIS SERIES PLEASE SUBSCRIBE AND HELP THE CAUSE OF DREAM CHILD FOUNDATION BY DONATING WHATEVER YOU CAN, HERE.

Thank you,

Dionne

Leave a Reply

