COMING TO GHANA: DAY 8

ARE YOU PACKED? YOU TOOK YOUR SHOTS? LET’S GO GHANA! AND THE BEST PART IS… YOU DO NOT NEED TO GET A PASSPORT!

Coming to Ghana Day 8– The boys to the yard

The morning after the night before was a struggle for us to get up since we were still exhausted from our adventure yesterday. We had a long lie in until 7:30 am. I went to have a shower outside over looking the beautiful silvery river. Afterwards, Shalom greeted us and said she had to go for a hospital appointment and she needs to leave. I asked her about breakfast and she said there was no bread. She returned with one plate of fried egg and two cups of tea. Marie does not eat egg so she was furious because all she could have is the tea. I offered her fruits but she opted for her biscuits instead. Shalom announced she was leaving for hospital and that we will see her at school later. After Marie had her shower and she got dressed, we texted the motorbike taxi to come for us so we can get to school.

It was 9:15 am and we were running late for school. We decided our only other option to walk in the heat. We got into town and Example came us to us and give us a handshake. I enquired what happened yesterday and why he did not pick us up yesterday from Kpeve, he explained that he had finished for the day. Then the motorbike taxi drivers, all male teenagers, started chatting us up as we passed by. I stopped for some ice cold water before continuing the journey.

We arrived at school at 10 am, very late. Dorkus was there and so was Shalom. We got ready to teach for the day. I had the youngest children and they were restless! Dorkus intervened and gave me a piece of thin branch as a whip. I was taken back by thought of having to use but I was tempted a few times.

At lunchtime. Shalom returned from the hospital and was not looking very well so Dorkus took us for lunch across from our school and we ate our first proper meal since the weekend. Rice and peas with a red curry sauce. It was the delicious!

After school, we left Shalom and headed to the market, it was mostly empty but we really wanted more watermelon. We brought some melon slices and Marie got herself a cucumber as she had not tasted a vegetable since arriving in Gyamini.

We were greeted by one of our regular motorbike taxi driver, he seemed happy to see us. He asked if we needed a ride and we said yes but we wanted to buy some cold sodas beforehand. He went to Abigail’s shop and got our drinks. We walked back to where the motorbike taxis were and looked for a familiar driver took take us back to the base. Micah popped out of the group of boys and headed towards us. He called another driver over to carry Marie. I picked up a batch of water from the store next door and Micah carried it. He wanted to impress me with his strength then all his peers were jeering him on and told me to hold his waist tight. I blushed and got on his bike.
001watersachetpkg
We paid the drivers their fares and headed inside our room. After, eating our watermelon slices we took our relaxation time outside on the porch to watch a mother with her two sons cut down the cassava trees that were damaged in the storm to harvest the cassavas under the soil. As the wind blew and the sun started to set, our conversation turned from travelling plans to relationships.

Lighing flashed in the night sky and thunder boomed through out the atmosphere. Shalom came out with our dinner. Marie and I engulfed our dinner on the porch before getting ready for bed. Marie had got burnt from the motorbike and the driver had put motor oil on it so she was worried about the pain and bruising. I hoped by morning she would feel better.

I laid in bed thinking about love and if I would find it the way I used to have it. I turned on my laptop and distracted myself with a crude comedy before beckoning for sleep to find me.

Stay tuned for day 9 for more adventures, reflection and stories from Ghana.

IF YOU LIKE THIS SERIES PLEASE SUBSCRIBE AND HELP THE CAUSE OF DREAM CHILD FOUNDATION BY DONATING WHATEVER YOU CAN, HEREHEREHERE.

Thank you,

Dionne

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve been wanting to go to Ghana for quite some time. I have family and friends that have been to Africa. My cousin has been to Tanzania,Ghana and South Africa. I’m really jealous.lol I still need to get my passport though. But I’m definitely going to do it!

    Like

    1. Where would you love to go?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’d like to go to Ghana first. It looks really beautiful!

        Like

Leave a Reply

