COMING TO GHANA: DAY 11

ARE YOU PACKED? YOU TOOK YOUR SHOTS? LET’S GO GHANA! AND THE BEST PART IS… YOU DO NOT NEED TO GET A PASSPORT!

Coming to Ghana Day 11 – The flashing lights

Today we started our day late with the overcast and grey skies. Shalom led the way to school. Marie’s leg was doing better and had started to heal. I felt after a long day in the market that my body was still recovering. Nonetheless, we dragged our heavy feet through dirt roads, jumped pot holes and weaved through back yards and shortcuts to get to the school.

IMG_0364My very young students were bursting at the seams to start their day while I was bent over a back of a chair catching my breath. They ran to their seats and stared at me, waiting for me to start. After 5 minutes of cooling down, I greeted them and we started revision of the alphabet and English words for each letter. My children ran out the class for a break to play while I managed to drink some water and feel better. The children had made incredible improvement in recognising English words, pronunciation and comprehending simple commands with actions. I never thought of becoming a teacher but I thought maybe I needed a career change and teach. I always wanted to be a lecturer and maybe this experience of some formal teaching is what I needed to start my curiosity.

I summoned my class to return to their seats after their play time. I went through their nursery rhymes and poems before we went through some action songs that they had grasped like ‘London Bridge is falling down’ and ‘head, shoulders, knees and toes’. To see their faces light up with enjoyment and laughter, really made this journey worth it.

IMG_0370

After school, Shalom and Dorkus asked us if we wanted to go to the market but we declined as we were tired from a long hot day of teaching. We made our way home. I asked Shalom if we could stop by a shop to get a cold drink. I brought my favourite drink Malta and took swigs to keep me cool. When we reached home, the thunder rumbled. We were glad that we chose not to go to the market as the sun was overcast with dark billows of clouds.

We got changed and welcomed one of the older school boys, Ziddi, onto our porch as he had followed us home. As we chatted abut our dresses and hopes for the weekend, Ziddi played with sticks until he got bored and left. Around 5:30 pm, the skies grew dark and the skies started a display of flashes of red and orange. Lighting cracked through the skies as if it was touching the Earth. It was frightful but also awesome to witness. Everyone around us came out to watch the light show. The wind started blowing hard and we soon realised that the thunderstorm was coming towards us. Marie ran to have her shower and I closed all our windows.

As the rain poured heavy and the wind was turning violent, we decided to eat our dinner, baked yams, inside our house. Then we had a blackout because of the lightening so we decided to stay under our mosquito tents until morning. The loud rattling of the roof and rain lulled me to sleep as soon as I laid my head down.

Stay tuned for day 12 and find out if we get our dream dresses from the seamstress.

IF YOU LIKE THIS SERIES PLEASE SUBSCRIBE AND HELP THE CAUSE OF DREAM CHILD FOUNDATION BY DONATING WHATEVER YOU CAN, HERE.

Thank you,

Dionne

Leave a Reply

