COMING TO GHANA: DAY 13

ARE YOU PACKED? YOU TOOK YOUR SHOTS? LET’S GO GHANA! AND THE BEST PART IS… YOU DO NOT NEED TO GET A PASSPORT!

Coming to Ghana Day 13 – The connection

Shalom knocked on our door with breakfast and announced she had a call from her mother and she needed to go home (another town in the Volta region) today and she will be back tomorrow. She told us Dorkus will take over from her by lunchtime. We wished her a safe trip and ate. After our spaghetti, Marie and I rang Alfred to find out if he was coming back this weekend if he was bringing the volunteer to Gyamini, and if there were anything we can go and see or do. He said that he would return on Sunday with the new arrival and he suggested a boat ride on the Volta River. We agreed that he will arrange the pickup and trip with his friend’s boat.

After two hours of waiting on the porch, a young man showed up from the river. He said Alfred sent him to get us for the boat ride. I asked how much it would cost. He rang the boat owner and I spoke to him. He said 100 cedis but we expected 20 to 30 cedis so we declined. The young man did not speak or understood much English. He said he was ready to go with us but I tried to explain that we will not be going and apologised then the owner rang back and said he would do it for 50 cedis and again I apologetically declined. He tried to haggle with me but we could not agree on a price. I handed the phone back to the young man. When he got off the phone with the owner, he realised that we weren’t going to go with him and left.

Marie and I decided to go into town and get internet on my laptop since it had been two weeks without any outside communication with my family and friends. I was so excited to read messages and catch up with everybody on social media. We arrived at Abigail’s shop and I purchased 1 hour of internet for 2 cedis. Marie brought her snacks and sodas then we headed to the back of the shop where there were red plastic chairs under a canopy facing the market square. I sighed a relief as I opened my laptop and searched for the wifi hotspot.

Two young girls who looked like sisters in their brightly coloured dresses stood behind me staring at my laptop amused. I logged into the wifi homepage and after a few delayed minutes, I was connected to my old life. I checked my inbox. It was so good to see emails from Aunty Helen, my family friend who was on my flight; mum, and one of my close friends, Sophie. Aunty was glad that I met up with the charity founder since we lost each other after arrivals at luggage collection. I wrote to her about my stay and that I would arrive back in Accra on Tuesday so we coukd meet up. I noted down her Ghanaian phone number for when I get my new phone on Monday. I smiled reading Sophie’s email. She was proud of me for doing something challenging and exciting. I read her second email expressing concern because she had not heard from me and was hoping I was fine. I responded to her emails, giving details of my time in Gyamini and the people I have met. Last but not least, I slowly drank in my mother’s email. She was telling me to be safe and to enjoy the trip. I heard her voice when I read her words. I missed her. I logged on to Facebook and a few other social media websites but they were not loading because of the slow connection. The hour went quickly as I went through other emails and try to download a few videos but was not successful.

I waved goodbye to Abigail and we went to the motorbike taxi rank and searched for a familiar face but we saw none. We rang one of the regular drivers we liked. After two tries, he had picked up and came to pick us up at the rank. Marie wanted to buy a batch of water since she was own to her last bag. The driver fitted us and the waters on his motorbike and took us to our base. We paid him and greeted the teacher, Dorkus, her two year old son, Theo and her friend that was sitting outside taking in the last of the sunshine. Dorkus was cooking while Theo was clung to her leg. The food was smelling delicious and I could not wait to eat since we had no lunch.

After a gut busting hearty dinner, Marie brought out her game of Uno and explained the rules then Dorkus and her friend joined us to play. We played a few rounds, laughing and getting competitive with each other like old friends.

Later that evening, I invited Marie to join me for a movie night. We watched a comedy for awhile before Marie fell asleep. I was not feeling tired so I watched another comedy. At 11 pm I felt drowsy and went to sleep.

IF YOU LIKE THIS SERIES PLEASE SUBSCRIBE AND HELP THE CAUSE OF DREAM CHILD FOUNDATION BY DONATING WHATEVER YOU CAN, HERE.

Thank you,

Dionne

Leave a Reply

