COMING TO GHANA: DAY 14

ARE YOU PACKED? YOU TOOK YOUR SHOTS? LET’S GO GHANA! AND THE BEST PART IS… YOU DO NOT NEED TO GET A PASSPORT!

Coming to Ghana Day 14 – The new arrival

On Sunday morning, Marie and I woke up feeling optimistic of meeting the new arrival. All we knew was that the volunteer is male and German. I teased her non-stop that he could be her future husband, tall, dark and handsome.

We walked down to the river to our weekly clothes washing. Marie went ahead of me carrying her clothes in a black round basin on her head. When we got to the river, along it were other women washing their clothes, farmers attending to their cassava cuttings, a father and son with their cattle grazing near us and small wooden fishing boats gliding through the water. It must have been 7 am and the river was teeming with local life. I waded in the water with my bucket to gather water from the small tides coming in. Dragonflies were everywhere hovering at my ankles. I walked back to my bag of laundry and started washing. Marie was about 2 meters across from me already washing her clothes and sheets. Within an hour I was done and headed back to the base while Marie was still washing her laundry.

IMG_0282.jpgThe teacher was hanging out his clothes to dry and Dorkus was sweeping out her room. I hung my clothes out whilst the teacher fixed the second blue clothes line. I gave Dorkus back the bucket. She bought out our hot chocolate and a plate filled with fried egg sandwiches and plain bread slices. I was grateful because I was hot, bothered and very hungry. I ate quickly and rushed back to meet Marie but she was already making her way back. I helped her hang up her clothes before she went inside for her breakfast.

The local church started playing music which made me dance whilst Marie swept out our room and pack away her things to prepare for the new arrival. I took out the rubbish and burnt it over a fire pit Dorkus had started when we arrived back from the river. Dorkus was dressed smart and head tied ready for church. She looked beautiful and radiant. Theo ran out after her looking smart and they walked to their church. I went inside to start packing away my overnight bag.

In the afternoon, Dorkus and Theo came back beaming with sunshine and smiles. She said she had learnt it was good to do good for others and it was uplifting. She went inside and got changed before resuming with washing dishes and preparing our lunch. My clothes were dry so I packed them away in my suitcase preparing to leave on Tuesday morning. I was heading to the big city this week.

After lunch, I was feeling tired from the domestic work so I took a nap. When I woke up I heard Alfred speaking to Marie. The new arrival was staying in town. I got up and greeted Alfred then I saw Shalom walking pass smiling. I enquired about her mother and she said she was fine. Alfred wanted to find out what happened with the boat ride. We explained to him about the misunderstanding of the price but Alfred was annoyed at his friend because he said that he agreed for 50 cedis, we just paid the 20 cedis and he would have paid the rest today.

IMG_0280

Shalom bought our dinner and Alfred announced that we would be going into town tonight to meet the other volunteer. Marie and I ate and got ready. As we were waiting for the motorbikes to arrive, Marie expressed her wish for the volunteer to stay with her from Tuesday night so she will not be alone. I agreed with her and said we should ask Alfred tonight. The bikes arrived after waiting 10 minutes and we were whisked under the starry skies to meet the German.

We stopped outside a guest house just outside the town centre, near the school. We walked to the door marked no.4 and Alfred knocked. A young tall man answered, his name was Chris and he was 20 years old. A few minutes later he came out in a t-shirt and shorts and introduced himself to all of us. We introduced ourselves and headed to the bar we went to 2 weeks ago. Marie and Chris were talking in German, getting acquainted. The group was in high spirit. As we approached the bar, we could hear loud Ghanian dance music. Shalom and I were already dancing whilst the rest watched on.

Alfred ordered food for Chris and drinks for the rest of us. Chris told me that he was in England and Scotland for 6 months and returned to Germany for 1 month before he flew to Ghana. He said that he would be with the charity teaching in Have for 8 weeks. Marie and I shared our experiences with the school and our challenges and he seemed to be overwhelmed that he just landed in Africa. Shalom was getting merry and I was teasing her. Everyone was getting on so well. Marie asked Alfred if Chris could stay with her after I leave and he agreed that was permissible. I was happy for her. Chris expressed that he would not mind. After everybody finished their drinks, we walked Chris back to the guest house and got on the motorbikes to take us home.

Stay tuned for my last few days in Gyamini and my trip back to Accra.

IF YOU LIKE THIS SERIES PLEASE SUBSCRIBE AND HELP THE CAUSE OF DREAM CHILD FOUNDATION BY DONATING WHATEVER YOU CAN, HERE.

Thank you,

Dionne

Leave a Reply

