COMING TO GHANA: DAY 15

ARE YOU PACKED? YOU TOOK YOUR SHOTS? LET’S GO GHANA! AND THE BEST PART IS… YOU DO NOT NEED TO GET A PASSPORT!

Day 15 – Hard to say goodbye

I woke up early and I felt happy that I am leaving tomorrow because I craved more adventure in the city and to lie by the beach. However, I felt sad for leaving the beautiful smiling faces of my class and all the other students. Upon reflection, I have adapted to the quiet life better than what I thought but I do not think it would have been possible without Marie’s company. I found happiness in the smallest of things and made a few friends in the small town. I had my routines, my children and a companion…. I was contented.

My reflection time was rudely interrupted by the abrupt need to visit the outhouse. Upon my return back to my room, Alfred said his farewells and went to meet Chris in town to take him to our school.

I thought that I should wash my towel and a few pieces of worn clothes so I can pack them clean and reuse in Accra. I hung my clothes on the line just in time to eat breakfast that Shalom had prepared for us. Marie was not in the mood to walk in the heat and I felt the same so we hoped for motorbike taxis as we sipped our teas. A few minutes later, Shalom told us to be ready for the motorbikes as they are coming to pick us up and take us to school.

We arrived at school and greeted the students, Alfred, Dorkus, and Chris who were all in the shade. I told my class that today was my last day and that this week they will have end of term exams. I was not sure if they understood what I was saying but I resumed going over all that I taught them over including English words and the alphabet before their first break. They were full of energy as usual and I was struggling to keep order in the classroom. I had to call Shalom into my class for some reinforcement. Alfred came over and said that he was taking Chris to Have and we said our goodbyes.

After the break, I gathered in my students like a hen with her chicks and continued teaching. They were more willing to learn now since the sun drained them of their energies while playing football and running around in the sun. Time flew as it was time for lunch and Shalom brought us two plates filled with rice and red stew. As we ate the children came to play with us, climb us, we tickled them, and let them play with our hair. I could not believe that they would continue to learn and grow up and I would never see them again.

Instead of an afternoon period, we allowed the children to play until home time. I cuddled all of the children and Dorkus announced that I would not return to the school for a long time so they had to make sure I enjoy us before the end of the school day. They huddled around me and I gave out bright stickers to each child. They all earned their stickers that they loved by answering a question on something they had learned for the past few weeks. I was not ready to say goodbye to all 15 of my kids in my class. I gave them a final hug and tickled them as Dorkus dismissed them. As we started walking, A few of them followed me and held my hand until we reached the busy road to the market. I said my final goodbyes and it was hard.

Marie and I did our final bits of shopping together and spoke about our plans for the coming weekend together in Accra. I was excited for us to reunite and have more fun. With a few black bags of water and snacks, we walked over to the bike taxi rank and saw Micah. He dropped us to our house where we enjoyed next door’s music and the cool afternoon breeze with Shalom. A few local children came to fetch us water from by the river for exchange for food.

Once we had dinner, we took out Uno to pass the time while discussing our time together thus far and my plans when I reach to Accra. As we were chatting, I felt the weather change and we went inside when the storm started unleashing rain, thunder and strong winds. We shut our windows and crawled under the mosquito netting and I watched a classic comedy until I fell asleep, wishing for tomorrow to already to arrive.

Stay tuned for day 16 when I return to Accra for more good times.

IF YOU LIKE THIS SERIES PLEASE SUBSCRIBE AND HELP THE CAUSE OF DREAM CHILD FOUNDATION BY DONATING WHATEVER YOU CAN, HERE.

Thank you,

Dionne

Leave a Reply

